Dirty Jersey.

Since Tina over at CarrotsNCake so graciously featured my little gigantic lovebug on her site today, I thought it would be fun to share Jersey’s ‘story’ with all of my lovely readers. So despite being a purebred, Jersey is 100% a rescue dog.


Name: (Dirty) Jersey

Namesake: The great state of NJ where M hails from

Nickname: dirty, jerz, jerz-e-la, la-la, pup-a-la, monkey-butt, butt, STOP!!! and many others πŸ˜‰

Hobbies: sleeping, running way too fast in the apartment and skidding on the hardwood floors, tearing apart any toy which is deemed ‘indestructible’, trying to scam food from anyone who isn’t looking, licking the coffee table in the hopes of swiping something good, rolling around in the dirt at the dog run and getting as filthy as humanly possible.

We adopted her off of Craigslist in September of 2008. We had fostered and English Bulldog (he was a homeless man’s dog, extremely emaciated and left by the man at an animal hospital since he couldn’t care for him and Georgi was starving) for months with the intention of adopting him. Unfortunately,Β  Georgi needed a home with people who didn’t work outside of the home, when he gained the 25lbs he needed to gain under our care he suffered from crippling and destructive separation anxiety that we/he couldn’t manage. After we helped adopt Georgi out, I was heartbroken. I really wanted another dog to fill the void, but we waited MONTHS.

I would always go on Craiglist and peruse, unsure as to what breed we wanted. I contacted some breeders of Vizslas, and began thinking maybe I wanted a short-coated active breed. One day, I randomly searched “Weimaraner” (which I had never done before, it wasn’t a breed I had necessarily considered but is in the Vizsla family) while on Craiglist. An ‘ad’/adoption post popped up for a 6 month old housetrained puppy who needed a home. The ad has been posted mere hours before. I figured it was too good to be true, she was just too adorable for words in the picture, but I thought there had to be something karmatic about the search and the timing of the ad posted…so I went for it. I’m sure the fact that ‘the rest is history’ isn’t too hard to guess here πŸ™‚


Since I am totally crazypants anal, I save all important email correspondence. So I dug this little gem out of the archives for you to see the email I sent to Jersey’s former owner on that fateful Craigslist-surfin day:

On Sat, Sep 6, 2008 at 3:51 PM, Sara wrote:
I would really like to hear more about your Weim. My boyfriend and I live in the West Village. We’re HIGHLY active (I run 20 miles a week on a daily basis) and are out and about ALL weekend long at outdoor brunch places and walking down the Hudson river. We want an active dog to share our life with. We’re financially secure, responsible and looking to share our lives and take the responsibility of a dog. We have a dog walker in our building who we would use 5 days a week and or we would supplement with a well known day care facility (Biscuits and Bath) for socialization purposes. I would love to hear more aboutΒ the puppyΒ in terms of your schedule and his (daily)…I look forward to hearing from you!
Sara

We emailed back and forth the entire day and it turned out the woman had adopted Jersey (then Macie!) off Craigslist as well! The story seems to be that she was ‘returned’ to a (most likely) back yard breeder in CT who then posted her on Craigslist. The woman and her family (including two small girls) had had her for about 2 months and were moving to take care of a sick relative and couldn’t bring her with them.

When we met her, we were hooked. She was a leggy ‘teenage’ puppy who could barely walk on a leash. She was all over the place. But beyond her spastic exterior was the sweetest, kindest, softest puppy with the most gorgeous shiny grey coat and eyes. She literally just melted your heart (and still does). We all met in the Washington Square Dog Run, and moments after meeting her I turned to M and said “this is our dog“.Β  And she is and she was. Chairs, couches and coffee tables have all fallen prey to her puppy chewing, she was hospitalized a mere three months after we got her to the tune of a gazillion a lot of money and tears, spayed TWICE (another story for another time), but we couldn’t love her more if she tried.

Whenever she snarfles on the floor (drinks water, then sneezes or drools is all over). Drools a quart of saliva waiting for her dinner to be put down, or crashes through the gate we use for her (in an effort to protect what is left of the couch) sending it careening across the floor, we love her more.

Jers-e-la, you’re one of a kind, princess.


So lovelies, do YOU have any pets? If so, do they have a good ‘story’? Jersey had three families before the age of 7 months!? Or do they ‘help you blog’? :


Had some great workouts and delicious weekend eats…off to a fun spot tonight as well… Recap to follow πŸ™‚

xoxo

s


29 thoughts on “Dirty Jersey.

  1. Your dog is adorable! I love weimeraners…my cousins have 2 girls and they are just like Jersey – rambunctious yet adorable and sweet! I have a kitty cat (not home enough to have a dog, though I love them too) who is about 2 1/2 years old. I got him from a no kill shelter that focuses on pulling cats from animal control right before they are scheduled to be put down. I am so glad my kitty made it. He is a tuxedo cat who is very curious and won’t sit still. He likes to sleep on his back with his paws up in the air. He actually kind of reminds me of a dog!

  2. OMG I had to comment! I had a dog all my years growing up (he passed away in 2008) and I miss him everyday! He was a soft coated wheaten terrier but his name was Jersey too!!! i love that your doggie is a Jersey!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Love that pic of you and Jersey. She is so adorable, I want to meet her soon! This is a really great story about how you found her. I am jealous, I want one! Why was she hospitalized??

    • Aw thanks Dori! Stop by anytime πŸ™‚ She was hospitalized from an infection she got from being spayed (she almost died) and then it turned out the spay didn’t work, (long story, it wasn’t the vet’s fault it was a freak thing) and she had to get spayed AGAIN!!!
      xoxo
      s

  4. I am officially obsessed. Loved seeing Jersey Girl on Carrots ‘N Cake. What an awesome, moving story you guys have!

    P.S. I’m so glad we’re not the only ones who make up millions of nicknames for their dog– we call Clark weird things like Frenchie Noodle Boy and Mini Rice-a-Roni Dog. Say whaaaa?

  5. Jersey is so cute! Love the name as well πŸ™‚ I had a cat named The George but had to give her to my parents after moving in with my fiance, he is super allergic. I miss her everyday and it’s really hard to give up a pet. I still get to see her all the time, but it’s not the same.

  6. Hehe how cute of her to help. πŸ˜‰ I have two miniature pinschers at home…but I’m off at college and don’t get to see them often. But they do like to help me blog at home…by walking over my keyboard. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

