(GYM) Pet Peeves…

Since I have four five followers right now, I figured it would allow myself a small rant on my gym frustrations. This came to me (literally, almost poked me in the eye) last night on the treadmill as a girl stretched. Onto my treadmill. Fingers in the face situation.

(Sorry, I couldn’t help myself…above image source)

I must have looked like someone shot me as her stretttchingggg arms cruised towards my face and almost stuck me. Directly. In. The. Eye. I exaggerate sometimes. Ok, more than sometimes. But this is no joke my four readers/friends (PS. Hi Mom & Dad! two of my four…) πŸ˜‰ Many things came to mind. First was “I should have stuck to that amazing 1 hour morning spin class and not tacked on this DANGEROUS 3 mile run” (Yes, sometimes I am dramatic too…) but I can’t refuse a pretty blonde co-worker asking me to accompany her to the gym for a quick run after work πŸ™‚ ….so I tried to distract my mind with random thoughts and finish that pesky run, and I began to think about my gym pet peeves. So bear with my while i bitc-uhhh list a couple of gym pet peeves:

1. Sports-bra-only-in-the-winter-elliptical/treadmill-girl. Sorry if you’re her. I still like you, except at the gym. Call it bitter apples, but here goes: So it’s 10 degrees outside. Snowing, perhaps. And you’re bouncing up and down on the elliptical half mostly naked. I get it. Nothing jiggles when you move except, well, what your mama gave yah…But come on. It’s really not hot in the gym. You won’t overheat with a tank top on. Wear the sheer white one which shows your washboard abs! Rub it in! I get it, I like bread and wine too much to look like you. But, jealousy aside, put on a shirt, chickie. (source for image)

2. Guy-Who-Sweats-WAYTOOMUCH…You know this guy. There is a PUDDLE behind him on the floor. A PUDDLE!?! His shirt is see through, I’m gagging just trying to describe this too you. I really have no solution (he’ll just sweat through the next shirt he puts on, so he’s not an easy fix) but this is just NASTY. Ew. Glad I got that out.

3. Competitive-Runner-Next-To-Me...Seriously. I am NOT RACING YOU. I am slow. Very slow. Stop looking over at my snails pace while you look like Paula Radcliffe.Β  I should bring a towel with “I know, I’m not that fast” to put over my treadmill screen….

4. Way too much lotion/way too nakedΒ  in the locker room. I don’t think I need to paint a clearer picture for you…I get it, you love your body. Love it in the corner, perhaps? Not center-stage-lockeroom. Before I’ve had my coffee.

5. Hair-Down-Perfectly-Made-Up: Again, call me bitter or jealous. But if your hair is down in flowing, gentle waves or perfectly straight and you have a full face of makeup? You’re making me look bad, sista. So move it. CoughWHITNEYPORTCough I saw you at my gym a couple of months back with said ‘beachy waves’ wandering around… Busted. (source for image below)

Ok, ok…Enough about my gym pet peeves. What are YOURS? Or just pet peeves in general. Like the word MOIST. I mean who really doesn’t abhor that word…

Almost time for the WEEKEND! On tap for moi:

So please, share with me your pet peeves so I don’t look like the ONLY judgmental beyotchahh at the gym. And your weekend plans…?

xoxo

S

ps) this is why dogs turn on humans. But isn’t she the PRETTIEST ballerina-princess???

 

36 thoughts on “(GYM) Pet Peeves…

  1. oh my gosh, too funny. I just wrote a post the other day about the exact same things! I hate all those things as well. My worst experience though was when an old woman tried to help me put my bra on in the locker room. Ahh! some people get wayyyy too comfortable at the gym πŸ˜›

    http://justrunmego.blogspot.com

  2. Bahahha amazing dog photo. As far as gym pet peeves, I could honestly go on and on and on. It drives me nuts when people get to group classes and reserve 10 spots in the front row for their best friends (who arrive late). I also hate it when people put their mats right on top of mine (exaggeration: right next to mine) when the class is hardly crowded. I’m sorry, was your name on this space? I didn’t think so. Move over. Thanks πŸ™‚

  3. I agree with the Mat issue, um just cause you were in that spot 5 classes ago does not mean its yours.everytime. Also, I’m 6′ so yes when I am in the 5′ DEEP end of the pool I can touch, do you really need to announce it to everyone else that I can really touch? Also you don’t own the lane in a public lap pool, so share or get frick out and wait until there is an empty one, no one likes to hear you bitch the whole time. WOW, I feel SO much better!!! lol

  4. Omg, where did that ballerina outfit come from and when do I get my framed picture of Jersey?? Good list of pet peeves. I have to agree with number 5, my hair always turns into a crisis center at the gym and I don’t understand anyones who stays perfect slash I hate them πŸ™‚ xo

  5. I sweat a ton when I workout. It’s disgusting. But I can’t help it and definitely feel embarrassed about it at the gym so I usually bring a change of clothes and change before doing weights because I am THAT self conscious.

  6. Too darn funny! I rarely go to the gym but that I agree with all your peeves when I do go. Which may be why I don’t go to the extremely nice and free gym at school. Instead I run outside where people can make fun of how slow I run in the comfort of their own house or car.

  7. Believe you me, I have plenty of gym pet peeves… The one I feel worst about admitting, though is I hate all the post-New Year worker-outers. Seriously, they won’t be there a month from now, so why break all the machines in the meantime?

  8. YOUR PUP!!!! I am dying at the sweetness!! Was she comfortable in those slippers or did she try to get them off? Too cute!

    Also, Missy IS that “Hair-Down-Perfectly-Made-Up” girl at the gym. And after she works out, her hair & makeup don’t even need to be touched, she looks just as perfect as when she entered. Sometimes I do not like my friend.

  9. I used to hit the gym before work every morning and no lie, a woman who got ready at the time as me would blow dry her PUBES….in front of EVERYONE. All I could think about was that I was inhaling pube fumes. Ugh.

    There is a silver lining to being limited to a home gym πŸ™‚

    • You. Win. The. Prize. That is the single most heinous thing I have heard in probably two days (sorry, living in NYC jades you…) ! πŸ™‚ Thank you for sharing that awesomeness, and that makes me want a home gym, YESTERDAY lest I EVER see that!!!
      Sara

  10. At my gorgeous gym in Spain (that David Beckham belonged to, that I still dream about) all the ladies constantly stood around buck naked, or in nice thongs, or whatever, but I honestly can’t say I blamed them. They had perfect bodies, fake boobs, and were just trying to get all cute for their lunch dates before getting dressed. Mostly I just wanted to BE them, so I can’t really hate πŸ˜‰

  11. I just found your blog from Skinny Runner, and I just HAD to comment on this post.

    I agree with each of your pet peeves, especially sweaty gym guy. I was just on the elleptical next to such a guy the other day. He kept blowing air through his lips (making a sound like a horse, which was quite annoying in itself) and when he did this, his sweat would blow everywhere. Including onto my machine. And onto my water bottle. He did this every 2 minutes. It was the worst!

    And how about the people who play music on their phone/ipod without using headphones? What if I don’t feel like listening to your terrible music? So annoying!

  12. Oh Man!!! I want an “I know I run slow” towel, too!!!! I just blogged about how I sucked it up and ran amoungst the Military Unit PT last night and just didn’t let their near collisions with me get me irked. I mean, really…they were cutting me off just to pass me and stay in my lane…back off! Another pet peeve is people that hang out talking and block areas in the gym…take it outside, or better yet: take it to the coffee shop! Your statement about the chick stretching and taking your eye out made me laugh out loud. It is break time, but I think my students thought I was a little crazy for my random outburst πŸ˜‰

  13. Just found your blog.. love it πŸ™‚

    I was actually LOLing at your hilarious post. No, seriously! I actually made audible laughing noises… soooo funny!!!

    I HATE loud breathers/grunters at the gym. I also hate the 15 handicap parking spots in front of my gym!!! Really?!?! Are ALL those necessary? And lastly, one afternoon in the locker room I saw a gal strip of her panties and closely inspect the liner! No joke! I just threw up a little.

  14. hahahaha this made me laugh!!

    I absolutely love your blog πŸ™‚

    I have pet peeves too:

    the girl who wears to much makeup really we’re not going clubbing!!!
    The sweat to much guy!
    The girl with the perfect bod! Seriously I get it you’re hot, I’m not, move on!
    the person on the cardio machine for 120 minutes get off of it already!
    the people who gossip next to a machine, move: i wanna work out!!

    Okay thats all for now πŸ™‚

  15. Just found your blog and I 100% agree with all of your pet peeves!
    I’d also like to add the people that stare at you while you are running on the treadmill. Who cares how fast I am going? Does it really matter to you what my incline is currently at? I can SEE YOU looking over! Stop looking and judging!!! Makes me so uncomfortable… grrr…

  16. Ummm, everything about this post is amazing… and I just copied it on my blog! I love my gym but some of the people who work out there are definitely questionable. The sports bra thing is soooo annoying especially in the winter. Put a shirt on damnit!

Leave a comment